Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

UAE allows some categories of passengers from countries where inbound flights were banned

Tue 03 Aug 2021    
| 2 min read

The National Emergency, Crisis and Disaster Management Authority (NCEMA) and General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) and have announced that entry to the UAE will be allowed for some categories of passengers from countries, from where inbound flights to the Emirates have been banned. This exemption will be applicable to certain categories of passengers from countries such as India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Nigeria and Uganda, as of 5th August, 2021.

These categories include those with valid residency visas who received the two doses of vaccine in the UAE, and that 14 days passed since receiving the second dose as well as having vaccination certificates approved by official authorities in the country.


Medical personnel working in the country will be also exempted, including doctors, nurses, technicians whether vaccinated or not vaccinated.

Those working in the educational sector who teach in universities, colleges, schools and institutes are exempted, irrespective of their vaccination status. 

Students studying in the country, people who deserve humanitarian consideration with valid residency visa, workers in federal and local government authorities, and cases of those completing treatment in the country, whether they are vaccinated or not, will also be exempted.

This will require all of these categories to submit a request on the website of the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship to obtain the necessary approvals, in addition to vaccination certificates certified by the concerned authorities in the country.

The exempted groups will be obligated to submit a prior PCR test within (48) hours from the date of departure, provided that the tests are from accredited laboratories and carry a QR Code, and that laboratory test is conducted before boarding the plane. Also, they must follow the precautionary and preventive measures upon arrival, including quarantine and PCR checks upon and after arrival, in addition to follow-up and health monitoring.

Earlier, the GCAA exempted official delegations and businessmen, subject to obtaining prior approval, as well as golden and silver residency holders. It also exempted holders of essential jobs according to the classification of the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship (ICA), and foreign aircraft crews, provided that a negative PCR test was obtained within 48 hours of departure and upon arrival, and adhere to the quarantine period.

Travel will also resume for transit passengers from all countries from which transit passengers were previously banned, provided that the traveler’s last destination is accepted and a laboratory PCR test is submitted within (72) hours from the time of departure. The country’s airports will allocate special lounges for transit passengers while taking all precautionary and preventive measures.

Leave a Reply